« AnteriorContinuar »
thirty Out-Members consist of ten poor persons from each of the parishes of St. Saviour Southwark, St. Giles Cripplegate, and St. Botolph Bishopsgate, and from these persons vacancies among the Brethren and Sisters are to be supplied by the church wardens of the above parishes, who are appointed visitors, with power to appeal to the Archbishop of Canter: bury, before whom the members are to be sworn in.
The buildings consist of a front and two wings, forming three sides of a quadrangle. The west end of the front contains the Hall and offices, on the ground floor, above which are the Master's apartments The east end is occupied by the Chapel, which possesses nothing remarkable, except a fine painting of the Transfiguration, by Julio Romano, as an altar-piece. This Chapel now serves as a chapel of ease to the hamlet; in a vault beneath, the founder, his wife and mother, are interred; and this place is exclusively appropriated to the burial of the Masters, Wardens, and Fellows, the other members of the College having a cemetery at a short distance.
The remaining buildings of this College comprise a small Library; the Audit Room, in which is a portrait of the founder; the School Room; and apartments for the Fellows, Brethren, and Sisters; and a garden of considerable extent is behind.
SSS 90162 Jorda198 nyeri de ORTAON adjacent to the College, is a handsome brick building, lately erected, of Grecian architecture, adorned with vases, &c. and enlightened from the roof. In this edifice is deposited a highly valuable collection of paintings, bequeathed to this institution by Sir Francis Bourgeois, an eminent painter, who died in 1811, and left the sum of £12,000 for the purpose of keeping the pictures in due preservation, and building a Gallery for their reception. This structure was accordingly raised, and contains, in addition to those bequeathed by Sir Francis, several other performances of great merit, some of which were left to the College by Mr. Cartwright, a bookseller and comedian, who died in 1686, and others are the gifts of more recent benefactors. The Gallery is open to the public, by tickets, which may be had gratis of most printsellers in London.
There is a Free School in Dulwich, founded in 1741, by James Allen, Esq. Master of the College, for the education of an unlimited number of poor children, of both sexes, which is supported by an estate left by him for that purpose. The population of the hamlet, in 1821, was 1386.
EGHAM, a large and respectable village, 18 miles from London, consists principally, of one street, nearly a mile in length, and derives its prosperity in a great measure from its situation on the high road to the southern and western parts of the kingdom. The Church, which was of considerable antiquity, having become ruinous, was pulled down, and the present edifice erected in its stead; it is a neat modern structure of brick and stone, and was opened in 1820. The monuments contained in the former building were carefully re-erected in this, and among them is one to Sir John Denham, a Baron of the Exchequer, and father of the poet, with his two wives; he founded an Almshouse in this village for five poor women, who receive £30 per annum also by his will. Another Almshouse was erected here in 1703, by Mr. Henry Strode, merchant of London, for twelve poor persons; attached to which is a School for the education of twenty poor boys, also endowed by the same benevolent individuaľ.
The population of Egham, in 1821, was 3616, but many additional houses have since that period been erected, and the village is in a flourishing state.
Between this place and the Thames is RUNNY MEAD, celebrated as the spot where the Barons, in 1215, compelled King John to agree to Magna Charta; bis actual signature, however, was affixed to this great bulwark of English liberty in a small island not far from hence, still called Charter Island. On - Runnymead horse-races are held annually in -September.
Epsom is a small town, beautifully situated on the high road to Dorking, about 14 miles from London; it contained, in 1821, 2890 inhabitants, and had formerly a weekly market, which has been long discontinued. The Church is a handsome building, lately erected, with a neat spire; and here are Meetinghouses for Dissenters, Alms-houses, a Charity School, &c. Two breweries carry on an extensive trade, and there is a large flour mill in the neighbourhood. Epsom was formerly celebrated for its mineral waters, which were discovered on the Common, about half a mile from the town, about the beginning of the seventeenth century, and soon became so famous as to attract more company than even Bath or Tunbridge; while the demand for the salts prepared from them was greater than could be supplied, although they were sold at five shillings an ounce! They had much declined, however, from their ancient repute, (not, it is believed, from any diminution of their virtues,) about the middle of the last century, when the fashion of sea-bathing completely superseded their use; the well was deserted, the buildings pulled down, and although the prepared salts are still extensively used, the place has long ceased to be one of fashionable resort.
On the neighbouring Downs is a well-known Race course, which is very numerously attended, and being on an elevated situation, commands an extensive and delightful prospect.
Esher, a village surrounded by some of the most charming scenery which can be viewed in this coun try, is 16 miles from London; it has a small Church, and contains about 1000 inhabitants. Its principal distinction arises from the numerous and splendid mansions by which it is surrounded; and of these the most important is CLAREMONT, formerly the residence of the lamented Princess Charlotte, and possessing a melancholy interest from being the place where she expired on the 6th November, 1817. The park and grounds are very extensive, and laid out in the most tasteful manner. The mansion, which is of elegant architecture, and spacious dimensions, was erected by Brown, the landscape gardener, for Lord Clive, the conqueror of India, at an expence of more than £100,000. After the death of his lordship, it passed to various proprietors, but was at length purchased by Parliament in 1816 for the residence of the Princess, on her marriage with Prince Leopold of Saxe Cobourg, in whose possession it still remains, although not often graced with his presence.
Esher Place, in this parish, formerly belonged to the see of Winchester; and William of Wainfieet erected a mansion here, which was enlarged by Cardinal Wolsey, in 1528, for: his own residence; and hither he retired on his disgrace, and remained here several weeks before he was permitted to remove to Richmond. It was subsequently purchased by Henry VIII, and was afterwards pulled down, but it is not known at what period. The Gatehouse remained ; and in 1729, on its coming into the possession of Mr. Pelham, brother of the Duke of Newcastle, he added some buildings, in the same style of architecture; it is this gentleman to whom the poet of the Seasons alludes, in his well-known lines, when speaking of
« Esher's groves,
EWELL, a small town, 13 miles from the metropolis, with a population of 1750 persons, had formerly a market, now disused. The Church is a building of considerable antiquity, and contains some curious monuments. A fine spring of crystal water rises near the spot formerly occupied by the market-house, and soon forms a stream called Hogsmill River, which turns several mills, and falls into the Thames about a mile above Kingston.
At Ewell was born, in 1582, Richard Corbet, successively Bishop of Oxford and of Norwich; who, beside being a sound divine, was a man of great humour, and author of some poems, which were reprinted about 20 years ago.
He died in 1635.
FARNHAM. This town is well built, and pleasantly situated on the Wey, near the Hampshire border of the county, 38 miles from London. It formerly sent Members to Parliament, but abandoned this privilege so long ago as the reign of Edward II. It has not a Corporation, but is governed by twelve Burgesses, "from whom two Bailiffs are annually chosen, who pay an acknowledgment to the Bishop of Winchester, (to whose see the town and manor have been attached ever since the ninth century,) of twelve pence per annum. The corn market held here was anciently esteemed one of the first in the kingdom; and Farnham was also noted for its manufacture of cloth. Both these branches of trade have in a great measure ceased, but their absence is more than compensated by the culture of hops, the plantations of which completely surround the town to a considerable extent, and their produce is more esteemed and bears a higher price than that of any other part of the country.
The Church, formerly a chapel of ease to Waverley Abbey, is an extensive edifice, with a well-built tower, having a small turret at each corner; the tracery of the great east window is very handsome, and the altar piece exhibits a good painting of the twelve Apostles. Here are several monuments, but none that deserve particular mention,
The Castle is seated on a hill to the north of the town, and was originally erected by Henry, Bishop of Winchester, and brother to King Stephen. Having been seized by the Barons in 1216, and subsequently destroyed by Henry III, it was shortly afterwards rebuilt with greater strength and magnificence. Early in the Civil War, it was occupied for the king by Sir John Denham; but being taken in Dec. 1642, by Sir William Waller, it was nearly destroyed by that general. After the Restoration, Bishop Morley repaired it at an expense of £8000; but his judg