Imágenes de páginas

rounded with a crown of thorns." On passing into the second court, the first object which attracts attention is the venerable

[merged small][graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors]

This building is of the Cathedral form, with a cross aisle, and a massive but low Tower, rising from the centre. It is considered, by Dr. Milner, as affording the first specimen of the English or Pointed style of architecture, and exhibits every variety of the Saxon and Norman pillars, arches, and ornaments. The greater part was erected by Henry de Blois; the west end, partly by Wykeham, and partly by Beaufort. The west front has an elegant portal, and above this is a large and ornamental window, filled with painted glass. In the Choir are sixteen stalls, above which are curious sculptures of the most remarkable personages mentioned in the Scriptures. Several monuments still exist within the walls; among which is an ancient brass in memory of John de Campden, Master of the Hospital in the time of Wykeham; and a modern tablet for Wolfran Cornwall, Esq. Speaker of the House of Commons in the reign of George II.

The remaining buildings consist of the lodgings of the Brethren, each of whom has three apartments, and a separate garden; the Refectory, or Common Hall, a noble room, with an oaken roof; the Master's apartments, which are spacious and convenient; and an open portico, 135 feet long, intended as the Ambulatory. Besides the above, are several other buildings, now disused, in consequence of the present reduced scale of the Hospital.

DIBDEN is a small but very ancient village, on the Southampton Water, mentioned in Domesday Book as having a fishery and salt works. The Church is of great age, but does not contain any thing interesting; in the churchyard is an immense yew tree, the trunk of which is 30 feet in circumference. About four miles from hence is Bury Farm, a manor which is held from the Crown by the singular tenure of presenting the King with a pair of white greyhounds whenever he enters the New Forest. In 1789, Sir C. Mills, then Lord of the Manor, presented a pair of these beautiful animals to George III on his arrival at Lyndhurst; and the breed is still purposely preserved by the family.

ELING, a village situated about a mile from Redbridge, occurs in Domesday Book under the name of Edlinges, and appears, at that time, to have been rather considerable, as it had a Church, (which still remains, although it has undergone very material alterations), two mills, a fishery, and saltworks. It is now a small place, principally inhabited by fisher

About two miles from hence, in a southwesterly direction, is Hound's Down, a charming forest lawn, somewhat of a circular form, but broken in various places by beautiful clumps of wood, and affording a richness and grandeur of view scarcely to be equalled. This spot is considered as the best pasture ground in the Forest, and the large herds of deer frequently seen grazing on it add life and interest to the scene.

ELLINGHAM, four miles from Fordingbridge, is a village with an ancient Church, partly on the site of a small monastic foundation, instituted here in the reign of Henry II, and made subordinate to the Abbey of St. Saviour in Normandy. Its possessions were given by Henry VI to Eton College; but some remains of the ancient building are believed to exist


[ocr errors][ocr errors]

in the nave of the present Church. The altar-piece is adorned with a fine painting representing

the Day of Judgment, taken from a Church near Cadiz, in 1702, by Brigadier Windsor, one of whose descendants presented it to the parish. In the churchyard is a plain stone, inscribed to the memory of Dame Alice Lisle, whose barbarous execution we have already mentioned. After the Revolution her unjust sentence was reversed. In this parish stands Moyle's Court, her family seat, in which she was accused of harbouring the rebels. It is a respectable mansion, situated in a small but pleasant park. The family of Lisle is ancient, and derives its name (De L'Isle) from the Isle of Wight, in which, as well as in Hampshire, it had large estates. Colonel Lisle, the husband of the unhappy lady above-mentioned, was an active partisan of the Parliament in the Civil War, and sat as one of the Judges of Charles I. On the Restoration he retired to Switzerland, and was murdered at Lausanne by three ruffians, believed to be hired by some of the restored family for that purpose.

EMSWORTH, a small but thriving hamlet in the parish of Warblington, about three miles from Havant, has 1850 inhabitants, and is pleasantly situated at the head of an inlet of the sea. Several vessels of small burden are employed in trading to and from this place, and a considerable number of the resi. dents are engaged in ship-building, rope-making, and other occupations connected with maritime affairs.

FAREHAM. This town, in Leland's time only “ a fisher village,” is now a respectable and populous sea-port; it is situated at the north-west extremity of Portsmouth Harbour, and is 73 miles from London. In 1821, its population amounted to 3677 persons, who are principally engaged in nautical pursuits; indeed the town may be considered as owing its prosperity almost solely to its contiguity to Portsmouth. Small vessels are built here, and trade is carried on to a considerable extent, in coals, corn, &c. A Bailiff, two Constables, and some inferior officers, exercise the government of the town.

FORDINGBRIDGE, an ancient and respectable town, 91 miles from London, is situated near the western extremity of the county, on the river Avon, over which it has a well-built stone bridge, of seven arches. This town is mentioned in Domesday Book as having a Church, and two mills. The population, in 1821, was 2444 persons; many of whom find employment in a calico printing establishment, and a manufactory of checks and bed ticks, carried on here.

About two miles from hence, on God's Hill, is an ancient encampment, secured on one side by the steepness of the hill, and on the other by a double trench and ramparts.

GOSPORT. This town, like Fareham, has grown into consequence from its neighbourhood to the grand naval establishments at Portsmouth. It stands on a projecting point of land at the western side of the entrance to the Harbour, and is regularly fortified on the land side by a line of bastions, redoubts, &c. extending to Alverstoke Lake, more commonly called Stoke Bay, on the south-west. During the late war Gosport enjoyed a considerable degree of

prosperity, the population having increased from 11,295 in 1801, to 12,212 in 1811; but since the peace it has considerably declined, and in 1821, the inhabitants of the parish of Alverstoke, of which this town is a chapelry, were stated at 10,972.

Numerous government works and magazines have been established here, for supplying the navy, among which are, the King's Brewery, the Cooperage, an extensive Iron Foundry, and immense ranges of store-houses for wine, malt, hops, &c. Many small sloops were also constantly employed in conveying beer, wine, and water to the ships in the harbour; but a great part of this business is, of course, now at an end. Very extensive Barracks for the military were erected here about the beginning of the present century.

Gosport is better built than most sea-ports, and its appearance from the water is fine and commanding, in consequence of the numerous forts, storehouses, and other large piles of building, which are thence seen to the greatest advantage. The principal street of the town runs westward from the Harbour to the Fortifications; some others extend in a parallel line, and all are crossed by various smaller streets; the former, especially,,contains many good houses, and handsome shops.

To the south of the town is the Church, or Chapel, a spacious and neat building, in an extensive burying-ground. It is respectably fitted up, and has a good organ, brought from the Chapel of the Duke of Chandos, at Canons. A new Church is now being erected by the Parliamentary Commissioners. Here is also a Roman Catholic Chapel; a large Meetinghouse for Dissenters, to which is attached an Academy for the education of young men designed for the ministry; several Charity Schools; Alms-houses for poor widows; a large and commodious Workhouse; and a neat Theatre. A good Market is held two or three times weekly, but the principal day is Saturday, when it is plentifully supplied, especially with fish and vegetables. The communication by water between this town and Portsmouth is constant, and is carried on by means of numerous ferry boats.

To the south of Gosport stands the magnificent Haslar Hospital, built towards the close of the reign of George II, and consisting of an extensive central building, and two wings, standing in a spacious area, called the airing-ground, almost a mile in circumference, and surrounded by a high wall. The length of the centre, or grand front, is upwards of 560 feet, and that of each of the wings 550 feet. The interior is divided into numerous wards, and the building is calculated to receive more than 2000 sick or wounded seamen at one time, who are treated, as they deserve to be, with the utmost kindness and attention. A neat Chapel, and numerous apartments for the Governor, Lieutenants, and other officers and servants connected with this grand establishment, occupy the other parts of the building.

About a mile to the west of the Hospital is a modern fortification, called Fort Monkton, considered exceedingly strong, and mounting 32 pieces of heavy ordnance, which, together with a Redoubt, still further westward, protects this part of the coast. To the eastward a massive stone wall affords security against the ravages of the sea; beyond this, near the

« AnteriorContinuar »