« AnteriorContinuar »
chant, who, returning with great wealth to his native country, was overtaken by a dreadful tempest, and made a vow, if Providence preserved his life, to erect a Church on the first land he saw: this land was Brent Tor; and the edifice thus constructed now forms the parish Church of the little village of Brent, which has about 150 inhabitants. The scenery around is wild and rugged in the extreme.
TEIGNMOUTH Is situated, as its name implies, at the mouth of the Teign; it stands on a gentle eminence, near the foot of a chain of hills, by which it is sheltered on the east and north, and is 190 miles from London. A small streani divides the town into two parishes, called East and West, which contained, together, in 1821, 3980 inhabitants. This place is of great antiquity, having been burnt by the Danes in the tenth century, and it is also one of the latest places exposed to the ravages of a foreign enemy in this country, having been destroyed by the French in the reign of Queen Anne. Within the present century, it has rapidly increased in importance, owing to its having become a fashionable summer resort for sea-bathing East Teignmouth, being on the seacoast, is the place most frequented by company, and here a neat Theatre and Public Rooms have been érected. The principal Walk or Promenade leads from hence towards the south, over an extensive level, called the Dan, where a small Fort has been erected. The views from this Promenade, looking up the river, are beautifully varied. The Church of East Teignmouth is a venerable edifice, of Norman architecture, standing near the beach; that of West Teignmouth was also of great antiquity, and was built in the form of a cross; but had become so dilapidated, that it was deemed necessary to pull it down, and a handsome new building, of an octagonal form, was erected in its stead, and
opened in 1821. Here are also some places of worship for Dissenters.
Teignmouth is a town of very considerable trade; many vessels are employed in the Newfoundland fishery, and others in the exportation of pipe and potters' clay, for the use of the Staffordshire potteries, &c.
Coals and other articles are imported,
and the greater part of the traffic is carried on in vessels built here; the fishery on the coast also af. fords employment to a considerable number of the inhabitants; and the Market, which is held weekly on Saturday, is well supplied with this and other articles of provision.
In the neighbourhood of Teignmouth are many beautiful villages and handsome mansions.
Among the former, Shaldon, on the opposite side of the Teiga, is the most remarkable, and is resorted to in the season by persons who are desirous of more quiet and seclusion than the town can afford them. The facility of intercourse with the western parts of the county has been much increased by the recent erection of a Bridge over the Teign, which is here of considerable width.
TIVERTON. This town is 162 miles from London, and is situated on the slope of a hill, at the confluence of the rivers Exe and Loman. It is of considerable antiquity, having been goverued by a Portreeve in the time of Alfred. It formed part of the possessions of the powerful Earl Rivers, who founded a Castle here about 1106; and afterwards passed to the Courtenays. The protection afforded by the Castle occasioned a great increase in the population of the town, and the privilege of a Market was granted in 1200. It subsequently became the principal seat of the wool. len manufacture in this county; and although desolated by the plague in 1591, and by three dreadful fires, in 1598, 1612, and 1731, it is still a place of considerable business, and the inhabitants, whose number, in 1821, was 8631, are principally employed in the manufacture of serges, druggets, and other goods of a similar description. Tiverton was first incorporated by James I, in 1615, and is governed by, a Mayor and 24 Burgesses, who have also the privilege of returning the two Members of Parliament. In 1723 the Charter was forfeited by the misconduct of the Corporation, but a new one was granted in the following year,
After the conflagration in 1731, Tiverton was rebuilt on a regular plan, and consists principally of four wide and long streets, forming a quadrangle, the centre being laid out in gardens and a fine bewling-greep; the houses are mostly of red brick or stone, and slated. On the west side of the town are the remains of the Castle, seated on an eminence, and of a quadrangular form; its walls appear to have enclosed an area of about an acre, and to have been about 25 feet high; it had several towers, and the entrance was by a spacious gateway on the east side. This building had fallen into partial decay previously to the seventeenth century, but was repaired and garrisoned for Charles I; after a short siege, however, it surrendered to Fairfax, and has since that period been abandoned. It is now in a dilapidated state, but retains the outline of its former grandeur.
The Church, dedicated to St. Peter, is a handsome edifice, situated on a rising ground near the Castle; its erection was the work of different periods, but its architecture is more uniform than might, from that. circumstance, be expected. It has a tower, 116 feet high, ornamented with pinnacles; some Chapels are attached to the main building, and the southern wall is adorned with curious sculptures. The interior of the Church is handsome; it has a fine altar-piece; an elegant screen, supporting an Organ; and several Monuments. A Chapel of Ease, dedicated to St. George, was built in 1733, and is a neat structure, of Grecian architecture. Meeting-houses for Dissenters of various denominations are also established here. The Free Grammar School is a fine building, erected in 1604, in pursuance of the will of Peter Blundell, a native of the town, who, having by his industry and probity acquired great wealth, bequeathed the whole for charitable purposes; this School affords instruction and maintenance to 150 boys, and three of the scholars are always kept at each of the Universities by a donation of the same munificent person. Here is also a Free English School, founded in 1611, by Robert Comyn, as a preparatory seminary to the Grammar School of Mr. Blundell, in whose employ he had passed a great part of his life; and a Charity School, supported by subscription. The benevolent institutions of Tiverton are numerous; among them are two Almshouses, the Eastern and Western, both erected early in the sixteenth century, and each supporting a number of aged persons of both sexes; and the Hospital, or Poor House, a large building, in which the inmates are employed in their several trades.
The Town House is spacious and well built; it contains numerous apartments, in one of which are portraits of the three first monarchs of the House of Hanover. The Market House is a large edifice, conveniently arranged; and the Markets are held on Tuesdays and Saturdays.
The inhabitants of this town are described, by a writer on the subject, as “ having a general disposition to social intercourse and conversation; in the summer they meet at frequent tea-parties, and in the winter at Assemblies, Concerts, &c." and a Reading Society, formed here in 1775, contributes its influence to enlighten their minds and soften their manners.
TOPSHAM_ is situated at the junction of the rivers Clyst and Exe, about 30 miles below Exeter. It principally consists of one street, of considerable length, in which are many respectable houses. The Church stands on a cliff, near the centre of the town, from whence an extensive prospect, of great beauty, is obtained. The population of Topsham, in 1821, was 3156 persons, many of whom are engaged in maritime employments, as a considerable commerce is carried on from hence, for the convenience of which a spacious and commodious Quay has been formed.
TORBAY, a well-known rendezvous of the English fleet in time of war, is of a semicircular form, enclosing a circumference of about twelve miles, and bounded by two promontories, called Berry Head and Bob's Nose. Its shores are screened by rocky ramparts, and covered, in almost every part, with trees, which in some places have attained great luxu. riance. Here the Prince of Orange landed in 1688, on that expedition which produced “the glorious Revolution."
TORQUAY is a beautiful village, on the northern margin of the Bay, which has a considerable number of visitors in the bathing-season, for whose accommodation Boarding houses, &c. have been erected. The walks in the vicinity are exceedingly beautiful
and the limestone cliffs which extend along the shore from hence to Teignmouth are, in many places, hollowed into remarkable cavities; one of these, about two miles from Torquay, is called Kent's Hole, and is divided into several apartments, the largest of which is about 93 feet in depth, 100 in length, and 30 feet high; the whole depth of the cavern is about 680 feet, and several pools of clear water are found in various parts.
TORRINGTON, 194 miles from London, is beauti. fully situated on an eminence rising above the river Torridge, over which it has a stone Bridge of four arches. Here was formerly a Castle, of which some slight vestiges still remain, and from the site of which, now converted into a bowling-green, the prospect is charmingly diversified. The parish has two Churches, both ancient edifices, to one of which a Library is attached. Here are also a Charity School, for 32 boys, and some Almshouses, of remote origin. Torrington was represented in Parliament previously to the fifteenth century, but not since. The Charter under which it is at present governed, by a Mayor, eight Aldermen, and sixteen Burgesses, was granted by Mary I. The population, in 1821, was 2538 persons, some of whom are engaged in a small woollen manufacture. A Market is held on Saturday.
TOTNESS, A large town, 196 miles from the metropolis, is finely situated on a hill overlooking the river Dart, which is crossed by a Bridge. Here, if we may credit Geoffry of Monmouth,
Brute, the Trojan colonizer of Britain, arrived, several centuries before the Christian era; its existence under the Roman government is more certain, as one of their roads had its commence. ment here; but not any historical event is connected with it, either in those remote ages, or in times nearer the present. King John granted it a Charter, which has been confirmed by many succeeding monarchs, and vests the government of the town in a Mayor, Recorder, 13 Burgo-Masters, and other persons, in whom is also the right of electing two Members of Parliament, who were first sent from hence in 1295.