The Awakening Land: I. The Trees; II. The Fields; III. The Town

Knopf, 1966 - 630 páginas
As a small girl, Sayward Wheeler and her family walk from Pennsylvania to the wilderness of the Ohio valley where they suffer many hardships and witness the rapid development of the area.

Dentro del libro

Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

LibraryThing Review

Crítica de los usuarios  - Kelberts - LibraryThing

Originally, I intended to read only "The Town" because it was the Pulitzer Fiction winner for 1951, but I discovered it was the third installment of a trilogy, so I decided to read the "set," and I am ... Leer comentario completo

Crítica de los usuarios - Marcar como inadecuado

I read the marathi translation of the triology by Marathi author Shri.G.A.Kulkarni.तीनही पुस्तके झपाटल्यासारखी वाचली.अतिशय अप्रतिम.सेर्डचा पूर्ण जीवनपट लेखकाने अतिशय ताकदीने रंगवला आहे.सतत कष्ट व दूरदृष्टी,साधेपणा ,व्यक्त न करताही मुलांच्या भावना जाणणे,स्वतःला काळानुसार बदलवताना काही वेळेस जुनेही घट्ट धरून ठेवण्याचा तिचा हट्ट. really I like her character more than Skarlet O'hara from Gone with the wind 


The Vision
The Dark Country
Derechos de autor

Otras 36 secciones no mostradas

Términos y frases comunes

Acerca del autor (1966)

Conrad Richter was born in Pine Grove, Pennsylvania on October 13, 1890. Richter started a small publishing business and wrote magazine fiction and nonfiction books on scientific philosophy. Conrad Richter won the Pulitzer Prize for his novel, "The Town," in 1951. The book was the third in what became known as Richter's Ohio Trilogy. These books were later published in one volume entitled, The Awakening Land: The Trees, The Fields, The Town. The books followed the life of Sayward Luckett Wheeler who was widely considered one of the most sensitively drawn pioneer women in fiction. The trilogy describes her participation in the gradual replacement of the gloomy and dangerous Ohio forest wilderness with new farming communities and a thriving town. Although Richter published more than 20 other novels and collections of short stories, most of which featured pioneers battling their environment, and some of which won their own awards, he is still best known for his Ohio Trilogy. Richter has written many other books including "Early Americana," a collection of short stories, "The Sea of Grass," a book about crooked politicians and cattlemen, and "The Light in the Forest," a book about the kidnapping of a white boy by Native Americans. He also won a National Book Award for "The Waters of Kronos" in 1961. "The Sea of Grass," was also nominated for the National Book Award in 1937. Conrad Richter died in Pottsville, Pennsylvania on October 30, 1968.

Información bibliográfica