Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

Broych, and Clerk Ogilvie, all great persecutors, who sought to make themselves up with the spoils of the poor people. In Galloway:

The laird of Lagg, Grierson, a most wicked persecutor there,

and in Nithsdale exacted above 1200 pounds. The laird of Elie, Lidderdale, and Canon of Mardrogate, all diligent persecutors and intelligencers, together with the then collectors. In Nithsdale:

The Duke of Queensbeny and his sons oppressed much.
John Alison, chamberlain to the Duke of Queensberry, who,
when dying said, " He had damned his soul for the Duke
his master," and George Charters, another of the Duke's
factors, who vaunted he had made twenty-six journeys in
one year in pursuit of the Whigs.
John Douglas of Stenhouse, a Papist, exacted above 5000

pounds.

The laird of Closebum, above 700 pounds.
Sir Robert Dalziel, upwards of 400 pounds of a few poor

families.

Sir Robert Lawrie of Maxwelton, an oppressor and persecutor. In Annandale:

The Lord Annandale dispossessed and harassed many families,

and persecuted much in Galloway.

Sir James Johnstone of Westerhall, a great persecutor, ex-
acted upwards of n,000 pounds.
Sir Patrick Maxwell of Springkell, a very active and violent

persecutor and oppressor.

The lairds of Powdeen, Castlemilk, Robert Carruthers of Rammerscales, Thomas Kennedy of Heybeiths, were most violent persecutors of poor people.

From these short accounts of the oppressions, bloodshed, and illegal tyranny exercised in this land, it may be conjectured what the total would amount to if a history thereof were published; but all these (howsoever great) persecutions are but little in comparison of what THE MOTHER OF HARLOTS and her children intend against us: which that the Lord may prevent, ought to be the serious prayer and strenuous endeavour of all them that have a regard to the greatest interests of themselves and posterity.

THE

EPITAPHS OR INSCRIPTIONS

THAT ARE UPON THE TOMBS OR GRAVESTONES OF THE

MARTYRS IN SEVERAL CHURCHYARDS AND OTHER

PLACES WHERE THEY LIE BURIED.

[graphic]

|0 fill up the vacancy of some pages, it is conceived that it will be neither impertinent to the subject nor unacceptable to the reader to insert the following epitaphs or inscriptions that are upon the tombs or gravestones of the martyrs, in several churchyards and other places where they lie buried. And the reader is desired to remember, that they being mostly composed by illiterate country people, one cannot reasonably expect neatness and elegant poetry in them, and therefore will readily pardon any harshness in the phrase or metre which he may meet with.—Note by the compilers of the Cloud.

[In the first edition the inscriptions fill six double-columned pages, closely printed down to the very bottom, as if there were others for which room could not be found. Following these inscriptions, a number of others, taken from gravestones in different parts of the country, have now been added for the first time. One or two of them, both of those in the first edition and of those now appended, have been verified by kind friends, but in most cases the writer has visited the localities themselves in which the monuments are to be found. At the end of each inscription a short account is given of the stone, or of the martyrs, where they have not been mentioned in the foregoing pages.—Ed.]

[graphic][merged small]
[graphic]

N a Monument in Greyfriars Churchyard, Edinburgh.

Upon the head of the tomb there is the effigies of an open Bible, drawn with these Scripture citations: "And when he had opened the first seal, I saw under the altar the souls of them that had been slain for the Word of God, and for the testimony which they held. And they cried with a loud voice, saying, How long, O Lord, holy and true, dost thou not judge and avenge our blood on them that dwell on the earth? And white robes were given unto every one of them, and it was said unto them, that they should rest yet for a little season, until their fellow-servants also, and their brethren, that should be killed as they were, should be fulfilled" (Rev. vi. 9-n). "These are they which have come out of great tribulation, and have washed their robes, and made them white in the blood of the Lamb" (Rev. vii. 14).

"Halt, passenger, take heed what thou dost see:
This tomb doth shew for what some men did die.
Here lies interred the dust of those who stood
'Gainst perjury, resisting unto blood;

Adhering to the Covenants and Laws,

Establishing the same, which was the cause

Their lives were sacrificed unto the lust

Of prelatists abjured. Though here their dust

Lies mixt with murderers', and other crew,

Whom justice justly did to death pursue;

But as for thir, in them no cause was found

Worthy of death; but only they were found

Constant and steadfast, zealous, witnessing

For the prerogatives of Christ their King.

Which truths were sealed by famous Guthrie's head,

And all along to Master Renwick's blood,

They did endure the wrath of enemies,

Reproaches, torments, deaths, and injuries.

But yet they're these who from such troubles came,

And now triumph in glory with the Lamb.

"From May 27th, 1661, that the noble Marquis of Argyle suffered, to the l7th of February 1688, that Mr James Renwick suffered, were execute at Edinburgh, about an hundred of noblemen, gentlemen, ministers, and others, noble martyrs for Jesus Christ. The most part of them lies here. This tomb was erected anno 1706."

Upon the foot of the monument stands a crown, with this inscription: "Be thou faithful unto death, and I will give thee a crown of life."

[This, well known as the Martyrs' Monument, is at the northeast corner of the Greyfriars churchyard, near the spot at one time appropriated to the bodies of criminals. The Rev. William Goold, minister of the Reformed Presbyterian Congregation in Edinburgh, from 1804 to 1844, told the writer that the grave-diggers were ordered by the authorities to bury the remains of the martyrs among those of murderers and other criminals who had been interred there. The grave-diggers, however, secretly sympathised with the cause for which the martyrs suffered, and took care that while burying their remains in the corner, it should yet be in a part of it where the body of no criminal had ever been laid, so that the dust of the two could not in any way intermingle. The opposite seems to be stated on the monument itself, but Mr Goold was a man of antiquarian tastes, and from his long connection with the Reformed Presbyterian Church— he was in his sixty-ninth year when he died in 1844—was the very person to have heard and to have sifted its traditions.

The present monument was erected in 1771, in place of an older and smaller one erected in 1706, by James Currie, merchant in Pentland. This older monument is still in existence in the possession of a representative of Charles Fairnington, the stone-cutter who put up the present one. It is in excellent preservation, and the inscription has been verified from it. James Currie was a worthy member of the united societies. His name is at the call the societies gave in 1706 to Rev. John M'Millan of Balmaghie. He suffered much during the persecution, and had more than one narrow escape for his life. He has left a record in "Passages in the life of James Currie," which, along with a similar tract by his like minded wife, Helen Alexander, have been recently issued in a small volume by one of his descendants, C. U. Aitchison, Esq., of the Indian Civil Service. The records of the Edinburgh Town Council, under date 28th August 1706, contain the substance of the memorial asking permission to erect the monument. It craves that the Council would allow the said monument "to be put up without paying of anything to the Kirk Treasurer as was done at Glasgow and other places of the nation." The Council granted the prayer of the memorial.

We have given the original inscription as on the old monument and as in the first edition of the " Cloud." The inscription on the present monument differs somewhat in arrangement of its paragraphs from that on the old, but otherwise it is substantially the same.—Ed.]

[graphic]

N a Gravestone in Hamilton Churchyard.

"At Hamilton lie the heads of John Parker, Gavin Hamilton, James Hamilton, and Christopher Strang, who suffered at Edinburgh, December 7th, 1666.

"Stay, passenger, take notice what thou reads;
At Edinburgh ly our bodies, here our heads;
Our right hands stood at Lanark, these we want,
Because with them we sware the Covenant.

"Renewed 1828."

[The monument is built into the east wall of the churchyard; and the grotesque appearance of the four sculptured heads, that

« AnteriorContinuar »