« AnteriorContinuar »
come in between its prose and rhyme, is one of the first objects to arrest the eye on entering the enclosure. It is a slab of freestone, four feet two inches in length, by two feet eight inches in breadth.
John Parker was a waulker [i.e., a. fuller of cloth) in East Kilbride; Gavin Hamilton, a tenant in Carluke; James Hamilton, in Killiemuir; and Christopher Strang, in East Kilbride. All four were taken prisoners at Pentland. They were tried at Edinburgh before the Council, and were sentenced to be hanged at Edinburgh, on December 7th, 1666; and after they were dead, their heads and right hands to be cut off, and disposd of as the Lords of Privy Council should think fit. "Naphtali" contains the joint testimony of the four, and other six condemned along with them.—Ed.]
a Stone in the High Churchyard, Glasgow.
"Here lies the corps of Robert Bunton, John Hart, Robert Scott, Matthew Patoun, John Richmond, James Johnstoun, Archibald Stewart, James Winning, John Main, who suffered at the Cross of Glasgow, for their testimony to the Covenants and work of Reformation, because they durst not own the authority of the then tyrants, destroying the same betwixt 1666 and 1688.
"Years sixty-six and eighty-four,
"The original stone and inscription repaired and new lettered, 1827, at the expense of a few friends of the cause for which the martyrs suffered."
[From the memorial to the Edinburgh Town Council, Asking permission to erect the monument in the Greyfriars', it appears that the stone in Glasgow High Churchyard had been erected previous to 1706. This stone, from which the above inscription has been copied, was lying on its side against the wall of the churchyard when we visited it in 1866; but the inscription has been transferred to the outside of the north wall of the Cathedral. The testimonies of John Richmond, James Johnston, Archibald Stewart, James Winning, and John Main are in the " Cloud." Robert Bunton, or Buntine, was a native of Fenwick, where a monument has recently been erected to his memory. John Hart was a native of Glassford. Robert Scott belonged to Dalserf. Matthew Patoun was a shoemaker in Newmilns. All were at Pentland. They were tried at Glasgow, December 17,1666, and were hanged on the 19th. Wodrow says that at their execution the men were most cheerful, and had much of sense of the Divine love upon them, and a great deal of peace in their sufferings.—Ed.]
N a Stone at Inchbelly Bridge, Kirkintilloch.
"'Twas martyrs blood bought Scotland's liberty. Erected, February 1865, in room of the old tombstone, by the people of Kirkintilloch and neighbourhood. Original inscription: In this field lies the corpse of John Wharry and James Smith, who suffered in Glasgow, 13 June 1683, for their adherence to the Word of God, and Scotland's Covenanted Work of Reformation: 'And they overcame them by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony; and they loved not their lives unto the death'" (Rev. xii. n).
"Halt, courteous passenger, and look on
There we our lives and right hands also lost .
From Glasgow we were brought unto this place
In chains of iron hung up for certain space.
Then taken down interred here we ly—
From 'neath this stone our blood to heaven doth cry.
Had foreign foes, Turks, or Mahometans,
Had Scythians, Tartars, Arabian Caravans,
Had cruel Spaniards, the Pope's blood seed,
Commenced the same, less strange had been the deed;
But Protestants, profest our Covenants to,
Our countrymen, this bloody deed could do.
Yet notwithstanding of their hellish rage
The noble Wharry stepping on the stage
With courage bold and with a heart not faint,
Exclaims, This blood now seals our covenant—
Ending, They who would follow Christ should take
Their cross upon their back, the world forsake."
[The monument is about three quarters of a mile to the east of Inchbelly Bridge, on the road between Kirkintilloch and Kilsyth. The original monument is a flat stone, six feet by three, and alongside of it is the new one, and both are enclosed under an iron grating. The inscription on the old monument, when we visited it in October 1866, so far as we could trace it out, seemed identical with that on the new by its side, yet it differs considerably from the following one, that given in the first edition of the " Cloud," which is three lines shorter, and has all the appearance of being a correct transcript. The probability is, that what is called on the new stone "the old tombstone " is not much older than this century, and that it is the successor of an older one on which may have been inscribed the following epitaph:
"Halt, passenger, read here upon this stone
Yet thence ta'en down, interred here we lie
Beneath this stone ; our blood to heaven doth cry.
Had foreign foes, Turks or Mahometans,
Had Scythian Tartars, Arabian caravans,
Had cruel Spaniards, the Pope's bloody seed,
Commenc'd the same, had been less strange their deed.
But Protestants, once Covenanters too,
Our countrymen, this cruel deed could do:
Yet, notwithstanding this, their hellish rage,
The noble Wharrie leapt upon the stage.
With courage bold, he said, and heart not faint,
'This blood shall now seal up our covenant,'
Ending, 'they who would follow Christ, should take
'Their cross upon their back, the world forsake.'"
N a Monument in Castle Street, Glasgow.
"The dead yet speaketh. Behind this stone lyes James Nisbet, who suffered martyrdom at this place, June 5th, 1684. Also James Lawson and Alexander Wood, who suffered martyrdom, October 24th, 1684, for their adherence to the Word of God, and Scotland's Covenanted Work of the Reformation.
"Here ly martyrs three,
And witness is
'Gainst all the nation's perjury
"This stone was renewed by the proprietors of the Monkland Navigation, April 1818, and again in granite by the citizens in 186 2. Drink and think, the Martyrs Monument."
[This monument is about a quarter of a mile's walk to the north of the High Church of Glasgow, at the Monkland Canal in Castle Street . It is a large tablet of polished granite, built into the wall that encloses the canal. Beneath the tablet a drinking fountain has recently been added.—Ed.]
N a Monument in the Cemetery, Paisley.
"Here lie the corpses of James Algie and John Park, who suffered at the cross of Paisley for refusing the Oath of Abjuration, February 3, 1685.
"Stay, passenger, as thou goest by,
"The stone containing the epitaph transcribed on this monument was erected over the grave on the Gallowgreen, the place of common execution; and on the occasion of the ground being built upon, it was removed near to this spot, along with the remains of the martyrs, by order of the magistrates, 1779.''
James Algie and John Park were two young men that belonged to Kenniswood, a village four miles to the south-west of Glasgow. They were seized on the Lord's day, February 1685, while in their own house, as they were about to make family worship. They were tried in the usual summary way the following Tuesday, and were hanged the same day at two o'clock.