Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB
[ocr errors]

SWEDISH LUTHERAN CHURCH.

They received a silver medal for these concave hoes at the fair of the American Institute. The writer well remembers when these came into use. They were so high in price that farmers did not have more than one, and himself, like many another boy of those days, had to keep on using the old fashioned ones, with an eye and the handle wedged on, while the hired man, or the father, used the "concave."

The next plant, one of the best appointed on the stream, is the N. N. Hill Brass Company which makes bells and toys by the millions, and for the millions. This was the former site of Niles, Parmalee & Co's shop. The N. N. Hill Brass Co. was

formed in January, 1889, by N. N. Hill. The average number of hands employed is 125. The bells made by them cannot be excelled for general excellence of workmanship and clearness and resonance of tone, the greatest care being exercised in all departments of their manufacture. A water power about 1,600 feet below the factory generates the electricity by which it is operated and lighted. On the site of this power house previously, Barton & Clark had a bell shop. Of this firm, now living, is Mr. Orlando Clark, of Cote St. Paul, Montreal, who engaged in the same business there. Mr. Barton was grandson of William Barton, of whom we will speak later Below this is Skinner's Mills, where that family founded a little settlement and carried on business in preparing lumber for the ship yards of Middle Haddam. All the above-named factories are within less than two miles of the only outlet of Lake Pocotopaug, which is mentioned in Connecticut Land Records, Vol. I, p. 456, as Niuppaquashneag Brook. This word, says M. L. Roberts, the his

[graphic]
[graphic][graphic][merged small][merged small]

PHILO BEVIN.

torian of this section, is a corruption of Wunni-appoquasinne-awke, and means "a good flag place" or "place to get flag," to make mats etc. The name of the lake, which like the above name of its outlet is also of Indian origin, and says the late J. Hammond Trumbull of Hartford, the recognized authority in the United States for Indian names and traditions, means "a divided pond." The pond has the appearance from the heights of Baker's Hill of being two ponds, united by a short strait. Modern usage calls the name of its outlet Pine Brook, upon which below the above-named sites are, or have been, quite a number of factories. Among these were a satinet factory operated by Justin Sexton and Sons, Pine Brook factory, Abel's Saw Mill, West's Saw Mill and H. B. Brown & Co. Further down the stream, but outside of the bounds of Chatham, near the mouth of Pine Brook was once an Oakum factory, and House Brothers now have a paper mill. These constitute all the industries which are carried on from power derived from the waters of Lake Pocotopaug, as it flows from this great, pure, natural reservoir.

For many years nearly all the sleigh bells in use in the United States and the Dominion of Canada were made in East Hampton and Middle Haddam. They also made house bells, hand bells, tea bells, cow bells and sheep bells for the whole country, and to-day are making their fair share of the bicycle bells which are used in such enormous quantities all over the civilized world. The manufacturing enterprise of this place and its general prosperity are traceable to no one man more than to William Barton, a very much respected citizen who was born in Wintonbury, a society in Windsor, now the town of Bloomfield, Nov. 26, 1762. He worked with his father whose name was William Barton, Sr. He was an armorer at Springfield during the Revolutionary War. At the close of the war he returned to Wintonbury and made pistols and other fire arms, until 1790, when he went to New York and engaged in the making of andirons and other brass goods. He came to East Hampton in 1808 and commenced the making of hand bells and sleigh bells. Others learned the trade with him, and afterwards engaged in the same business.

[graphic]
[merged small][ocr errors][graphic]
[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]

the Asylum Hill Congregational Church in Hartford. It is one of the strongest in tone of the bells in Hartford.

[graphic]
[merged small][graphic]
[graphic]

DAN B. NILES.

died July 15, 1849, universally respected and lamented.

East Hampton was settled more rapidly than any other part of Middletown, east of the Connecticut River. There was a large increase of inhabitants soon after the erection of the forge at the outlet of the lake about 1743. The names of the inhabitants and amount of their lists, as stated in the Colony Record for that year, were as follows: Azariah Andrews, 30, Jonathan Bailey, 48.16, David Bailey, 27, William Bevin, 20, John Bevin, Jr., 34.06, John Bosworth. 18, Jabez Clark, 39, Ebenezar

[graphic]

Clark, 42.13, John Clark, 143.10, Josiah Cook, 32.06,Samuel Eggleston,30,Stephen Griffith, 47, W. Harding, 27, Daniel Hills, 31, George Hubbard, 33, James Johnson, 86, William Johnson,9,Seth Knowles, 58.10, John Markum, 21, William Norcut & Son,61, Joseph Parker, too. 16, Hezekiah Russ, 30, Isaac Smith, 26, John Stevens, 26, Samuel Wadsworth, 40, Issac Williams, 18, Daniel Young, 22--Total, £1,100.06. On the petition of the above named for society privileges, the same was granted and the parish of East Hampton was incorporated at the May session of the General Assembly, 1746. The church was organized, that is the Presbyterian, or what is now the Congregational

[ocr errors]

RESIDENCE OF N. N. HILL.

body, Nov. 30,1743On this date Rev. John Norton, a native of Berlin, a graduate of Yale College, 1737, was set over the same and installed as pastor. He had been settled before this, over a church in Falltown, Mass. The latter place is now called Bernard

ston.

In 1745, when the

old French and Indian War was on,

and disturbing the people, he resigned

his pastorate and went as chaplain, being stationed. at Fort Massachusetts, at Adams, Mass., and was there when it was attacked Aug. 20, 1746, by nearly one thousand French and Indians under General De Vaudruil. Col. Hawks, Commandant of the Fort, had only twentytwo effective men, and all told, men, women and children, thirty-three persons.

RESIDENCE OF JOEL W. SMITH.

[ocr errors]
[graphic]
[graphic][merged small][merged small][merged small]

hands of the Indians. The next day the French general violated his word on this point

on the plea that he was afraid of mutiny

in his command, as the Indians were irritated because they were cut off from the spoils and profits of the conquest. The garrison lost but one man in the action and killed outright forty-five of the enemy. Mr. Norton wrote an account of his captivity

RESIDENCE OF WILLIAM H. BEVIN.

which was about the time of the massacre at Deerfield, Mass. He says in this record "When the prisoners were marched as far as Crown Point, on the way to Quebec, a party of Indians who went off from Adams with a view of attacking Deerfield, returned with six scalps of white men and one captive." Sickness broke out among the prisoners. Mr. Norton was often sick. Fifteen belonging to the company of prisoners died, and on the 27th of Aug., 1747, the rest were exchanged, and under a flag of truce set sail from Quebec and arrived in Boston, Sept. 16th. In

[graphic]

RESIDENCE OF MRS. PHILO BEVIN.

« AnteriorContinuar »