« AnteriorContinuar »
in various other public Colonial matters. He finally removed to Boston and became unquestionably the leading lawyer of his day. He died there in 1749.
Litchfield County was organized in 1752 and New Milford became, as it still is, its southwestern town. It is situated upon both sides of the Housatonic River, about forty miles from its mouth. The river enters at the northwest corner and running an irregular course for nearly twenty miles leaves it at the southeast corner, and furnishes magnificent water power should it be required. The town originally comprised a very large territory; but from its first bounds have been taken about all of the present town of Brookfield, the New Preston part of the town of Washington, and the whole of the town of Bridgewater, formerly known as the Shippauge Neck or simply "The Neck" and yet with all of
these abstractions it is now twelve miles occasionally visited them, and a trading long by five to eight wide.
It was the chief seat of the Indians of Western Connecticut, and the sachem had his palace near the Great Falls. This was constructed of barks, curiously held together, the smooth side inwards, which a distinguished Indian artist had ornamented with pictures of all known species of beasts, birds, fishes and insects, making it a kind of natural history room. It is said that this chief, the great Waramaug, had about two hundred warriors directly under his command, and that the other neighboring
post at Goodyear's Island had for years. provided them a market for their surplus products of the forests and furnished them with implements and clothes; but it was when he came to die that the Indian sachem's best qualities were discovered. Parson Boardman took him in hand, and christianized him so that he died in the faith. The Rev. Boardman writes thus of him: "That distinguished sachem, whose great abilities and eminent virtues, joined with his extensive dominion rendered him the most potent prince of that or any
tribes, the Pomperaugs, the Bantams, Piscatacooks and Weataugues, were also under his authority. Together they made a very formidable opposition to the incursions of the fierce Mohawks, when they went on the war path, or took a trip to the waters of the Sound. Now Waramaug was a good Indian, even before his death, and his subjects were far in advance of the other Indians in raising crops, fishing with nets, and building their wigwams. Probably he and they had gained a good deal in their contact with the whites who
other day in this Colony; and his name ought to be recorded by the faithful historian, as much as that of any crowned head since his was laid in the dust." He was probably buried in the Indian burial place near there, and a monument, which has within recent years been removed, was erected to his memory on Falls mountain.
So the Indian memories of the region are inseparably blended in the mind with the romantic scenery near the Great Falls. History tells us that these falls were formerly one hundred and forty feet high instead of only seventeen, as at present, and were farther down stream. Just below them, the river has worn its way through the mountain forming a most picturesque gorge, then suddenly spreading out into a broad
basin, called the Cove, once noted for its being a great fishing place, at the farther end of which is Goodyear's Island. In their deeds of the land to the whites the Indians reserved their fishing rights here and returned each year at the proper season to fish for lamprey eels and shad until within the memory of those now living. These fishing rights the white man always recognized and respected.
Not far from here run the waters of Still river, passing through the little village of Lanesville and emptying into the Great river just above the falls. This stream comes from Danbury ten miles distant and has scarcely any current until it nears its mouth, when it passes down the limestone
rocks making the falls where David Griswold and his son Jacob were in 1714 induced to come from Wethersfield and establish a grist mill, thus saving the inhabitants the long journey with their grain to Derby, Woodbury or Danbury. Other manufacturing as the years rolled by, was added to it, but all the buildings are now in ruins.
ST. JOHN'S EPISCOPAL CHURCH.
Half a mile west from these ruins is the old Quaker Church, built about 1805, and its graveyard adjoining. Formerly there were a number of Quakers in this vicinity; now there are none. They had other buildings for worship previous to this one. Their society was first formed in 1731 when sundry members of the First Church "fell away" to Quakerism, as the Rev. Daniel Boardman phrased it.
Concerning the erection of the building now standing we read in Orcutt's history, "When this meeting-house was raised, tradition says, the number of members of the
STREET AND GREEN.
nesses, one as late as 1822. One
of the earli-
we give :
son of Zach
ariah Ferris and Sarah his wife, and Abigail
be made light enough to bear a load and
Tryon of New Milford having declared
had been introduced about twenty years according to the good order used amonger
them, whose proceedings therein, after