Pacific Destiny: The Three-Century Journey to the Oregon Country

Tom Doherty Associates, 2002 M06 29 - 480 páginas

"Walker constructs a compelling narrative that is a string of unusual profiles rather than an analytic account of a major event in American history." - Publishers Weekly

The Oregon Country!

For a century that fabled place, lying somewhere beyond the Rocky Mountains at the farthest reaches of the continent galvanized the American people.

Its riches, in furs, timber, fish, and fecund soil for farming, awakened the avarice of nations. Spain, Great Britain, Russia, and the United States all vied for this trackless Eden of the pacific littoral, and not until the 1840s did the Americans claim it once and for all.

In these pages are the explorations of the fierce Scots who scaled the mountains and mapped the rivers of the Oregon country before the time of Lewis and Clark; the imperial fiefdom created for profit and Britannia by the fur-trading ventures of the Hudson's Bay Company; John Jacob Astor's ill-fated experiment on the Columbia River; the mountain men who risked their lives in Indian country in pursuit of beaver furs; and the arrival of the missionaries and pioneers of the Oregon Trail.

Pacific Destiny is the Spur Award-winning story for best historical non-fiction, told by a distinguished chronicler of nineteenth century America. A story of the clashing of empires, coveting the matchless wealth of the Pacific Northwest-the story of The Oregon Country.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.


Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

Pacific destiny: the three-century journey to the Oregon country

Crítica de los usuarios  - Not Available - Book Verdict

The story of the European settlement of the Oregon Country (modern-day Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, and western Wyoming) probably starts as early as 1543, when a Spanish explorer is supposed to ... Leer comentario completo


Derechos de autor

Otras ediciones - Ver todas

Términos y frases comunes

Acerca del autor (2002)

Dale L. Walker’s more than twenty books reflect his varied historical interests: military and Western history, 19th century "Golden Age" journalism, biography, and Jack London studies. He is a four-time Spur Award winner, the Owen Wister Award for life achievement, and is a member of the prestigious Texas Institute of Letters. Among his books are the Spur Award-winning Januarius Macgahan, The Boys of '98, Bear Flag Rising, and Pacific Destiny.

Información bibliográfica