Imágenes de páginas

"Not a single fact can be stated respecting him from the time of his baptism until he attained his 20th year, when he appears to have been a resident of London. Neither the cause nor the period of his removal from Stafford to the metropolis has been ascertained, though it is probable that he was apprenticed when very young to a distant relation of the name of Henry Walton, who was a haberdasher at Whitechapel." It now appears that Isaack Walton was made free of the Ironmongers' Company in 1617-18 by Thomas Grinsell. This fact does not greatly interfere with the supposition that he was apprenticed to Henry Walton. Thereisnoentry in the Ironmongers' books of the year in which he was bound; Henry Walton may have died before he had completed his time, in which case Isaack was probably turned over to Grinsell to serve out the remainder. Henry Walton does not appear to have been a member of the Ironmongers' Company. In 1G37 Isaack Walton was chosen warden of the yeomanry (or freemen), and in 1639 paid over the sum of 21. Is. lOrf. the balance left in his hands after discharging the duties of that office. He is again mentioned in 1641: the Lord Mayor having addressed three several precepts to the city companies, to make a return of all their members, with their places of abode, and to raise certain sums of money which were "immediately required for the important affairs of the kingdom," &c. Walton was assessed with his brethren of the Ironmongers' Company, and is then described as Isacke Walton of the parish of St. Dunstons in the West, and contributed for his proportion the sum of 3/. Beyond this period no further mention is found of him, except in an account of arrears of quarterage. Thomas Grinsell was a liveryman of the Ironmongers' Company; in his will, which is dated the 14th January, 1640, and was proved in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury on the 13th of June, 1645, he is described as Tho. Grinsell, Paddington, citizen and ironmonger. He bequeaths 20/. to the parish of St. Dunstan's in the West, where he lately resided, and he appoints his son-in-law Henry Valentine, D.D. and Isaack Walton, citizen and ironmonger, his overseers.

Mr. Nicholl also exhibited a roll of the pedigree of Lloyd of Cownwy co. Montgomery, made by John Cain of Oswestry in 1633, and emblazoned with many shields *f arms.

The Rev. George Munford, of East Winch, Norfolk, made a communication relative to a monument of the Howard family existing in that church.

June 13. W. R. Hamilton, esq. V.P.

The Rev. David Jones, Incumbent of St. Mary's Kirkdale, near Liverpool, author of " The Patriarchal Religion of Britain, or a complete Manual of Ancient British Druidism," and James Wallis Pycroft, esq. of Great College-street, Westminster, were elected Fellows of the society.

Dawson Turner, esq. F.S.A. exhibited four books of beautifully executed drawings illustrative of the ecclesiastical antiquities of Norfolk.

1. Of the painted screen at Martham, with a series of saints, about half life-size, in fine preservation.

2. Of the ancient altar-cloth at Ling. This is 7 feet long by 3iwide, and formed of curious pieces of cloth richly wrought in embroidery, with gold and silver thread, presenting rather a patchwork appearance at present. A part of the cloth is of nearly the same pattern, of feathered angels, &c. as the cloth at St. Thomas at Salisbury, engraved in the History of that city, lately published.

3. Of a casket of stamped leather for the sacramental chalice, a piscina, a beautiful painting of a saint, and a figured pavement-tile, in Cawston church. The casket is 23 inches high; on its lid is a griffin segreant, surrounded by the legend + IHESVS NAZARENVS REX IVDEORVM. Around the side are seven shields: 1. Gyronny of four pieces; 2. a lion rampant guardant; 3. three crosslets fitchee and on a chief two molets pierced (Clinton ?) ; 4. a cross engrailed (Ufford);

5. Bezanty, a canton ermine (Zouehe);

6. a maunche (Hastings); and 7. a lion rampant debruised by a bendlet gobonee.

The 4th book we did not see.

George Grant Francis, esq. Hon. Librarian of the Institute of South Wales, at Swansea, exhibited an acquittance, on parchment, of Sir Rees ap Thomas, in 9 Hen. VII. releasing the lands of his ward and son (in law) Edward Stradling from payment of their rents to himself, in favour of their owner. It is sealed with a small square seal of a raven surmounted by the letter R, which is made on a slit of the parchment without a label. Sir Rees was a Knight of the Garter, and lineal ancestor of the present Lord Dynevor.

William Wansey, esq. F.S.A. presented a copy of the fac-simile drawings, in colours, of the Pageant of the Fishmongers' Company on Lord Mayor's day 1616, made by Mr. Henry Shaw, F.S.A. and accompanied by an illustrative dissertation by Mr. John Gough Nichols, F.S.A. which have been privately printed at the expense of the Company, in a large folio size.

The reading was then continued of the order book of Major-Gen. Lambert and the Council of War sitting in Yorkshire in the year 1647.

June 20. Richard Yates, esq. of St. Andrew's Hill, Doctors' Commons, was elected a Fellow of the Society.

Mr. Brown exhibited a small seated idol, of pure gold, found on the margin of the lake of Guativite, situated on the summit of a ridge of mountains about eight leagues from Santa Fe" de Bogota, the capital of Columbia. This lake, previously to the conquest of New Granada by the Spaniards, was considered sacred by the natives of that country, and they were accustomed at certain periods to throw into it their treasures as offerings to their deities. The scenery around the lake is magnificently romantic, and well calculated to make a powerful impression on the human mind. By the remains still to be seen of extensive works, it is evident that various attempts had been made by the Spaniards to drain the lake, and it is on record that about eighty years ago so much gold was got out, that the quinto to the crown amounted to upwards of eighty thousand dollars. At that time also an emerald of immense value was found, and sent to Madrid. A company has of late been formed in Bogota for the express purpose of effectually draining the lake, and, from the judicious measures adopted and the progress already made, there is no doubt it will be accomplished. This golden idol, which formed part of the collection of His Royal Higness the Duke of Sussex, was found near the margin of the lake, and was presented to James Hamilton, esq. by General Santauder, Vice-President of Columbia.

Mr. C. Roach Smith exhibited, 1. a drawing of a fresco painting in Godshill church, Isle of Wight, by Mr. John A. Barton, representing Christ crucified on a tree or shrub, with mottoes on the side, one only legible, <©ra pro nobirf Nomine.

2. Drawing of a fresco of a late date, found in pulling down Mr. Mason's house in Chichester.

3. A Runic almanac belonging to Mr. Crafter of Gravesend, formed of several wooden leaves strung together.

4. A rubbing of the brass of Margery Arundell, in Anthony church, Cornwall, communicated by Charles Spence, esq. of Devonport. The inscription is as follows: "Hie jacet Margeria Arundell quondam d'nade Est Anthon' filia Warini Erchedeken militis que obijt xx°vj° die Octobr' A" d'ui M°cccc°xx° cuius a'i'e p.picietur deus."

John Adey Repton, esq. F.S.A. copj.

municated a drawing of an ancient vessel found in 1843 in digging the foundation of the Savings Bank at Chelmsford, and presented to the Chelmsford and Essex Museum by Mr. James Moss. It is supposed to have had two handles (one of which is lost), and each was also a spout. Its only ornament is a row of nail-head knobs.

Sir Henry Ellis, Secretary, exhibited an oblong brass box containing a dial, a mariner's compass, and various tables, formerly called aViatorium or German Ring. The present specimen is marked B. S. 1587, and belongs to J. B. Heath, esq. F.S.A. the Sardinian Consul-General.

A. J. Kempe, esq. F.S.A. exhibited a copy by Albin Martin, esq. made by permission of the Duke of Sutherland, of an ancient portrait now in his Grace's gallery at Sutherland House, said to be that of Cardinal John Kempe, Archbishop of Canterbury, who died A.D. 1453. Mr. Kempe entered, on the authority of a MS. in the British Museum, at some length into the memoirs of the Cardinal, who was born at his patrimonial seat of Ollantigh, in the parish of Wye in Kent, A.D. 1380. He noticed his acts of munificence and those of his nephew Thomas Kempe, Bishop of London, to Merton college, Oxford, his diplomatic employments as Gustos Privati Sigilli in the reign of Henry V. and as Lord Chancellor in that of Henry VI. The authenticity of the portrait of Cardinal Kempe rests on the authority of Walpole, who probably inserted in his Catalogue of the Collection at Strawberry Hill such account as he had received with the picture. Mr. Kempe pointed out that certain panels which have been associated with this portrait and that assigned to Cardinal Beaufort were not by the same hand. One of these panels, representing a man in the act of adoration in a stable, bears the arms of Tate impaling Boleyn; another is said, in Walpole's Catalogue, to represent Humphrey Duke of Gloucester. Mr. Kempe's paper was accompanied by a diagram shewing that this last panel was part of a group depicting The Wise Men's Offering; that the centre part of the composition, the Virgin and Child, was wanting; that the man kneeling in a stable was certainly Joseph, and completed the picture. The two panels said to represent Beaufort and Kempe, whatever the authenticity of their designation, were certainly distinct and by another hand. Observations on these pictures have already been inserted in the Gentleman's Magazine, N. S. vol. xviii. pp. 24 and 187. Mr. Martin's copy i,f the portrait attributed to Cardinal Kempe is a very spirited and faithful delineation. of the original, which, as a work of art of the 15th century, has considerable merit.

The Society then adjourned to the 14th of November.

Archaeological Association. — The first annual meeting of the British Archaeological Association is fixed for the second week in September, and will be held at Canterbury, under the presidency of Lord Albert Conyngham, who proposes to open at that time several of the Saxon barrows near his seat at Bourne Park. Mr. Pettigrew proposes to unfold an Egyptian mummy, and explain whatever points of interest may occur in its developement. The ancient monuments of the city, its museum and public establishments, will be freely thrown open.


This society met at Copenhagen on the 27th of May, under the presidency of the Crown Prince. The most important publication of the society during the past year is an edition of the ancient Sagas of Iceland, embracing the annals of that island and its inhabitants from the ninth to the fourteenth century. The first volume contains two works by Iceland's earliest historian, Are, surnamed Frode, or the Learned (A. 1068, d. 1148). In the latter are related the earliest voyages of discovery from Denmark, the Faroe Islands, and Norway, with the emigration to Iceland caused by the conquests of Harold Haarfager. To the " Historical Monuments of Greenland" two supplements have been added by Dr. Pingel, who, having resided and travelled for some time in that country, undertook to draw up a general account of the most important expeditions which have been made in modern times from Denmark and Norway, to explore the various localities which have been brought to light by the exertions of the society. A new edition of itafn's Memoir on the Discovery of America, being a supplement to his great work the Antiquitates Americana?, was laid before the meeting, together with communications from the American section, confirmatory of the learned author's views and deductions. The Memoires, 1840— 1843, contain a disquisition on the connexion between Sanscrit and Icelandic; a Memoir of Einar Sokkason, the Greenlander, translated from the Icelandic; an account of human remains and remarkable antiquities found at Fall River, Massachusetts, &c.; Remarks on two Icelandic chairs with ornamental carving and Runic inscriptions; and a description of the frontiers between Norway, Sweden,

and Russia, in the Middle Ages, taken from an ancient vellum MS. It was stated that H.R.H. the President had caused several barrows on the Fockr island to be opened and examined during the preceding summer. In one of these was found an urn, surrounded and overlaid with iron articles. The urn was filled with burnt bones, upon which lay an iron buckle bent together after having been exposed to fire, and which had probably belonged to a shield or head ornament; four fragments of a remarkable iron sword, thirty inches in length, lay also above the urn i this had evidently been submitted to the action of fire, and then broken or bent together, as if to prevent the weapon being again used. It was generally supposed that the similar fragments of swords in the museum had become broken and injured by the effect of rust and time, but it would now appear that they were intentionally placed in that condition at the time of being deposited in the earth.


At a sale in May of ancient armour, carved furniture, tapestry, &c, by Mr. Deacon, in Berners-sCreet, which occupied three days, the following lots were bought for the repository of ancient armour at the Tower of London:—

26. A cleddyn, or sword of the ancient Britons, the hilt of which was of horn (vide Meyrick) ; whence the adage, "He who has the horn has the blade."—2 guineas.

96. A specimen of the early chain and plate armour, with helmet and chain camail attached, and mail hauberk. The plastron and arms are probably the earliest example of plate armour.—10 guineas.

243. A dagger of the Crusaders—2/. 8*.

246. A pair of ancient sollerette stirrups—3/.

248. A hauberk, of chain mail, of European workmanship—21. 4s.

276. A complete cap-a-pie suit of knight's steel armour, of the fifteenth century, remarkable for the form of its treble-jointed breast and back, helmet, and tuilles. From the Royal Arsenal of Constantinople—33 guineas.

278. A knight's suit of bright steel German armour, with strong visored helmet, having a small door in the vizor. (It was the sudden opening of this door which occasioned the death of Henry II. of France, when tilting with Gabriel Count of Montgomerie, in 1559)—25 guineas.

281. An engraved suit of knight's armour, of singular form and great weight. —SO guineas.



House Of Lords.

June 6. The Earl of Egmont moved the second reading of a Bill giving to Sir T. M. Wilson power to dispose of that portion of his estate which had been bequeathed to him by his father on 11 AmpStead Heath. The Bill was opposed by Lords Denman, Campbell, Brougham, Mansfield, and others, on the ground that it was clear, from the will of the late Sir T. M. Wilson, that he did not intend Hampstead Heath to be inclosed and built on, which would be the effect of this Bill; and, therefore, that to pass it would be to benefit an individual at the expense of the public.—Lord Cottenham and Lord Colchester supported the measure, as doing no more for Sir T. M. Wilson than their Lordships were continually called on to do for others. On a division the Bill was rejected by 31 to 20.

June 11. The Earl of Powis moved the second reading of a Bill to repeal the Act that united the Sees Of Bangor And St. Asaph. The whole of the clergy of North Wales have united in petitioning against the Act; the diocese to be formed by the junction of the two sees would embrace 3,000 square miles of mountainous country, and be larger than one bishop could properly overlook.— The Duke of Wellington and the Archbishop of Canterbury supported the proposed union as necessary to the erection of the diocese of Manchester.—The Bishops of Bangor, St. David's, Exeter, and Salisbury spoke in favour of the repeal of the Act; and the Earl of Harrowby, one of the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, seeing that such strong opposition existed to the proposed union, would no longer object to that course. The House divided on the motion for the second reading :—Contents, 49; Non-contents, 37; Majority, 12.

June 13. Lord Monteagle moved for a Select Committee to inquire into the Import Duties.—The Earl of Dalhousie opposed the motion, and it was negatived by 184 to 75.

House Of Commons. June 3. In Committee of Ways and Means, the Chancellor of the Exchequer

proposed a duty of 34s. a hundred weight on Foreign Sugars not the produce of slave labour.—Lord J. Russell proposed an amendment to admit all Foreign sugars at that duty, whether free or slave-grown. The Committee divided—Ayes 128, Noes 197. The original question was then put and agreed to.

June 4. Lord Harry Vane moved a Committee of the whole House on the Export Duty on Coal, with a view to its immediate repeal—Ayes 74, Noes 110.— Mr. Lyall moved for a Select Committee on the Commercial Marine of this country, which was agreed to.

June 6. The Attorney-General moved the second reading of the Dissenters* Chapels Bill, a measure intended to prevent aggressive litigation upon existing trustees, but which has been earnestly petitioned against both by church, men and orthodox dissenters, as offering an unjust protection to the Unitarians. Sir R. H. Inglis moved that the second reading be deferred for six months. The Bill was strongly supported by Government, and the second reading carried by 307 to 117.

June 7. The Lord Advocate moved the order for Committee on the Parishes (scotland) Bill, which is intended to facilitate the division of parishes and the creation of new parishes.—Mr. Fox Maule contended that the measure was unnecessary. In the last twelve months nearly 800,000 people had left that Scotch church whose parishes and places of worship this Bill proposed to increase ; while 500 new places of worship had been erected for the reception of the seceding parishioners. He moved that it be committed that day six months. The House divided—Ayes 259, Noes 56. The Bill then went through Committee.

June 10. On the order for Committee on the Sugar Duties Bill, Mr. Ewart moved an amendment, that "it is expedient that the Duties on Foreign and Colonial Sugars should be equalised." The main question was carried by 259 to 56.

June 12. A debate was resumed upon a motion of Mr. Ward, for a Committee of the whole House upon the present state of the Temporalities Of The Chubch Of Ibelakd. On a division the motion was negatived by 274 to 179.

June 13. On the order for the second rending of the Bank Of England Charter Bill, Mr. Haicti moved as an amendment that " no sufficient evidence bus been laid before this House to justify the proposed interference with Banks of Issue in the management of their circulation." The second reading was carried by 185 to 30.

June 14. In Committee on the Sugar Duties Bill, Mr. Philip Miles moved an amendment in favour of the West Indian

interest. The Ministerial proposition Whs that the duty upon British sugar should be 24*. per c\vt. and 34*. upon Foreign free-grown sugar. .Mr. Miles proposed that the duty on British colonial sugar should be 20».; on Foreign sugars the produce of free labour, 30».; on Foreign sugars the produce of slave labour, 63*. This proposition was carried ... un-T Government by 24-1 to 221.

June 17. In Committee on the Sugar Duties, the proposed rate of duty on Colonial sugar was restored to 24*. by a majority of 255 to 233.



A series of dreadful riots has occurred in Philadelphia, which continued several days, during three of which the mob held complete possession of the city. Sixteen live* were lost, and 20 persons dangerously wounded, besides many others not ascertained. They commenced with a disturbance at a public meeting of n new party lately sprung into existence in the United States, called " Nutive Americans ;" and they were caused by collision with the Roman Catholic Irish, who inhabited the houses in the vicinity of the place where the meeting was holden. The prejudices of the Irish settled in the United States have been flattered to a great degree by designing demagogues losecure their rotes. Their old sympathies anil attachments are appealed to, and the distinctive national character of their country is sedulously preserved to them. The Catholic Iri-hmen move us one man, and are sufficiently powerful to make terms for their suffrage. In many places they hold the balance of power, and are alternately caressed and cajoled by either parly. The influence of this body has at length become so odious in its effects as to originate a " Native American" party for its counteraction. This pmty held an out-door meeting in Kensington, a suburb of Philadelphia, on jMniiil.iv the Gth May, to discuss some local ii (fairs, and before it was fairly organise;! a violent storm arose, which induced the assembly to ndjourn to the Washington Market House, a building near at hand, which has been frequently used for public meetings. The third speaker had hardly commenced when he was interrupted by a loud noise, said to have been made by Irishmen, and then followed a general fight, in which the Irish were worsted and driven to their

bouses. The excitement was raised to an intense degree in consequence of several shots being fired from the windows of the Hibernia Hose House, a building adjoining, which wounded many of the Americans. There appears to be some doubt as to which party fired the first shot; but the Irish were in the vicinity of their own houses, and fired from their windows. The " Native Americans" pursued them, and attacked them. Finally the Irishmen rallied and beat off the "Native Americans." The next morning placards were posted all over the city, calling a meeting of " Native Americans," to be held at three o'clock, p.m., in Independence-square. About noon, a party of men and boys, of the working class, passed through the streets, bearing a large American flag, and a banner, on which was inscribed, " This is the flag that was trampled by Irish Papists," referring to the act of the Irish Catholics at the American meeting of the previous day, which they had invaded and fired upon. The resolutions passed at the meeting were as calm and moderate as could be expected under the circumstances, hut the people composing the meeting proceeded after it to the scene of the riot, and there fresh outrages ensued. The conflict commenced about five o'clock. Atnbout six the Native Americans set fire to the house at the corner of Cadwallader and Master streets, from which it is supposed the gun was fired that killed the man the day before. The fire spread with great rapidity to the Hibernia Hose House adjoining, mid in a short time the whole row of buildings was in flames. The Irishmen still continued firing at intervals from their Imu-es, even after they were set on fire, and as fast as they were driven out of one house

« AnteriorContinuar »